Every year, the Hist sends our best teams to the European University Debating Championship and the Worlds University Debating Championship. Over the years, we have had finalists in both competitions.

Irish Times

The Hist has won the Irish Times Debating Competition more times than another other society. Most recently, Hist team Ronan Daly and Daniel Gilligan were the overall team winners of the competition in 2019.


Other Successes

In debating, getting a break means reaching the knockout rounds of a competition as a speaker or as a judge. The Hist has enjoyed massive successes in many debating competition, across Ireland, the UK and Europe. Recent successes include:

  • Earlsfort Open 2019 finalists - Caoimhin Hamill and Doireann O’Brien

  • UCD Pro-Am 2019 winners - Maria Cullen and Jack Kennedy

  • National Maidens 2019 runner-up - Aisling Rooney

  • Galway Open 2019 finalists - Jack Kennedy and Conor O’Malley

  • WUDC 2019 judge break - Doireann O’Brien

to Read TO the full list of Hist Debating Successes since 2012.